My Ideal Counselling Room

A spacious room; Large, clean, white and airy; large picture windows all around, with white muslin draped around them, allowing the air to flow through, looking out onto large gardens that are filled with colourful and scented flowers. (In my mind’s eye, it is very similar to the room in the John Lennon ‘Imagine’ video)

 In the centre of the room is a large grand piano – the sort that is irresistible to tinker on – and guitars and other musical instruments lay in casual but inviting disarray around it, available for clients to use if they want to, to help express themselves.  On top of the piano, there are paper, art materials and some blank canvases alongside an easel; also for the clients to use. I imagine that exploration of creativity will be an important part of any therapy I offer.

To one side of the room, near one of the large picture windows are two large comfortable sofas, covered in soft, snuggly throws and pillows, of all colours and textures, separated only by a fluffy rug and coffee table, armed with the obligatory box of tissues, and vase filled with fresh cut flowers – preferably taken from the garden outside, so the scent is still fresh.

4 thoughts on “My Ideal Counselling Room

  1. That sounds truly heavenly. An ideal physical environment for healing.
    But here’s the thing. I am a patient. My therapist sees me in a dingy little room in a shared “health” center with other healthcare professionals such as osteopaths, etc. There’s enough space for two chairs facing each other. Nothing else. There’s a wonky ugly print of a flower nailed to the wall (did I mention it’s wonky) and there is a tiny window that looks out onto an ugly backyard.
    And it is the safest place I’ve ever been in. The room is filled with trust and care and tears and pain and laughter shared. I feel like the room I am seeing my therapist in resembles what you’re describing and much more because my therapist has created this space for me, emotionally. I wouldn’t change it for the world.
    I hope your patients will feel the same about your therapy space, no matter whether you find this amazing loft space or not.

    • It sounds like you have a wonderful therapist, I’m so pleased that you are finding your therapy so valuable. I really should have added a post script to this post, that I am quite realistic, and know the chances of me ever practising in a room like this are slim – to say the least. It was an exercise we did in class – I suppose the reason our tutor had us imagine this space was so that we could understand exactly what we want to create for our clients and ourselves – and it sounds like your therapist has successfully done for you!
      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read and post about your experience. It’s so valuable to me… 🙂

Leave a Reply

